Awards & Honors

Recent Award Winners

Katherine Loboda and Catherine Yiwen Li

Two Hoopes Prizes for Undergraduate Senior Thesis Writers

June 14, 2018

Each year Harvard makes awards to the strongest the writers of Senior Theses. This year two Statistics concentrators were given this honor:

Loboda, Katherine for her submission entitled “From Mendel’s Peas to P-Values: A Network Approach to Understanding Complex Disease Heritability”—supervised and nominated by Professor John Quackenbush

Li, Catherine Yiwen for her submission entitled “Novel methods for cross-population prediction of gene expression”—supervised and nominated by Professor Alexander Gusev

Congratulations, Katherine...

Read more about Two Hoopes Prizes for Undergraduate Senior Thesis Writers
Dempster prize 2018

Robin Gong Wins 2018 Dempster Prize

April 30, 2018

The Department of Statistics is pleased to announce the 2018 Dempster Prize will be awarded to Robin Gong. She will present her Colloquium entitled “Conditioning rules for sets of probabilities: dilation, sure loss and Simpson’s paradox” at 4.15 Monday 30th April, Science Center 705.

Previous winners of the Dempster Prize are: Espen Bernton & Xinran Lin in 2017; Anqi Zhao & David Jones in 2016; Panagiotis Toulis in 2015; Peng Ding in 2014; Bo Jiang in 2013; and Alexander Blocker in 2012. The Dempster Prize is named in honor of Professor Arthur P. Dempster.

More Award Winners

Past Award Winners

View past Statistics Department award winner by award category

Departmental Awards


Dempster Award

Prof. Dempster

The Arthur P. Dempster Fund "will support and recognize promising graduate students within the Department of Statistics, in particular those who have made significant contributions to theoretical or foundational research in statistics."

Learn more


Pickard Award

David Pickard

Once every two years, the David Pickard Teaching Awards will be given to individuals who examplify excellence in teaching.

Learn more

Additional Awards & Honors


Bok Teaching Award

The Derek C. Bok Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Teaching of Undergraduates is given each year to five teaching fellows who have been nominated by their departments.

Read more


Hoopes Prize

From the estate of Thomas T. Hoopes, Class of 1919, Harvard has received a fund from which to grant annual awards to undergraduates on the basis of outstanding scholarly work or research.

Read more


Other Awards & Honors

Honorary Degree Recipients