2021 Dempster Prize awarded to Ambarish Chattopadhyay

March 31, 2022
Image of Ambarish
The Department of Statistics is pleased to announce the 2021 Dempster Prize will be awarded to Ambarish Chattopadhyay for his paper (with Jose Zubizarreta) "On the implied weights of linear regression for causal inference".
Congratulations to Ambarish! We had a large number of very strong applications for the prize. We are very grateful to all of those who took part in the competition.
Previous winners of the Dempster Prize are: Lu Zhang in 2020; Wenshuo Wang in 2019; Robin Gong in 2018; Espen Bernton & Xinran Lin in 2017; Anqi Zhao & David Jones in 2016; Panagiotis Toulis in 2015; Peng Ding in 2014; Bo Jiang in 2013; and Alexander Blocker in 2012. The Dempster Prize is named in honor of Professor Arthur P. Dempster.