Faculty Recognized for Extraordinary Teaching

July 13, 2020

Acknowledging the unique challenges that were faced during the Spring 2020 semester, undergraduate students recommended to Harvard College commendations to faculty for "extraordinary teaching during extraordinary times." Those receiving these awards in the Statistics department were:

Subhabrata Sen: Stat 212, Probability 2
Marie-Abel Bind: Stat 140, Design of Experiments
Kevin Rader: Stat 98, Junior Tutorial and Stat 102, Introduction to Statistics for Life Sciences
Joe Blitzstein: Stat 111, Introduction to Statistical Inference
Neil Shephard: Stat 111,...

Read more about Faculty Recognized for Extraordinary Teaching
Pragya Sur

Pragya Sur starts as Assistant Professor

July 2, 2020

Pragya Sur started her Assistant Professorship in Statistics on 1 July 2020. She just completed a post-doc with Professor Cynthia Dwork, before that she did her Ph.D. at the Department of Statistics, Stanford University. Harvard’s Department of Statistics is thrilled to welcome her to our Faculty.

STEM Shutdown on 10th June 2020

June 11, 2020

The Department of Statistics participated in the Harvard Science Division’s “STEM Shutdown” on 10th June 2020, focusing the day on reading and discussion meetings about racism in society, research and education. The Department identified action points it will take forward as it seeks to improve its contribution to making Harvard and our discipline of statistics more diverse and welcoming. At the conclusion of the day, we relayed these action points to our Dean verbally and in writing.


Professor Pierre E. Jacob appointed John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Natural Sciences

May 29, 2020

Our own Pierre Jacob has been appointed John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Natural Sciences, effective July 1, 2020. This professorship is named for 1924 Harvard College graduate John L. Loeb, an investment banker and philanthropist whose gifts to the University have supported a Fellowship Fund bearing his name as well as associate, assistant, and junior professorships at FAS.