COPSS Presidents’ Award for Professor Tyler VanderWeele

August 3, 2017
tyler vanderweele


Congratulations to our Harvard colleague Professor Tyler VanderWeele, who has been awarded the 2017 President’s Award by the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (American Statistical Association, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, Statistical Society of Canada and the Eastern and Western North American Regions of the International Biometric Society). The award given to “a young member of the statistical community in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession of statistics.”

Professor VanderWeele is Professor of Epidemiology at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

This century the COPSS award has been awarded 18 times, of these 6 have been given to Harvard faculty members: Xiao-Li Meng (2001), Jun Liu (2002), Xihong Lin (2006), Rafael Irizarry (2009), Sam Kou (2012) and now Tyler VanderWeele (2017).